The “Nutty Fringe” has to go!

 

I should further explain where I come from as I begin holding forth on politics in this blog. I am a retired mental health professional who is well versed in the liberal arts, especially history, philosophy, religion, and literature. I could best be described as a “social scientist” as I bring an analytical perspective to the human predicament, individually and collectively. I daily subject this political dog-and-pony show of ours to my analytical knife. It is just how I approach the world. But, I know that it is merely one perspective of many.

Now I’m given pause about this very effort. “What’s the point?” I ask myself. Who am I to hold forth like this and who will give a damn anyway? Well, I don’t know and that is out of my hands. I intend to merely “offer my deeds to oblivion” (T. S. Eliot) and see what happens. I’ve been doing this with another blog (literarylew@wordpress.com) and the experience has been very rewarding.

So, without further ado…

I always see the unconscious at work, individually and collectively. The Republican Party currently has a major problem with its unconscious dimension, that seething cauldron of far-right extremism which Karl Rove once described as “the nutty fringe.” Just last week John Boehner described them as “knuckle draggers.” This “nutty fringe” is a minority but they are a vocal minority and they have significant numbers; they are large enough that another Republican dignitary noted two years ago in reference to this phenomena, “We’ve been hijacked.”

I personally think they are an embarrassment to most Republicans but there is little they can do right now as they cannot when any election without the support of these Neanderthals. But at some point in the coming decades these Neanderthals will have to be dealt with, limits will have to be set with them, if the Republican Party is going to continue to be the voice of a true conservative presence in our political culture.

I am troubled to admit that the GOP could easily win this coming election. Ordinarily I would not be so troubled were it not for the influence of that “nutty fringe”. We really need a Conservative voice in our political system and perhaps this is the time for it to assert itself. I just wish it didn’t have these Klingons exercising such power in their ranks.

 

About literarylew

I am a retired mental health counselor in El Prado, NM near Taos.I have a lovely wife, Claire, and our only children are two lovely dachshunds, Elsa and Ludwig. I have a BA in history/psychology (double major) from Henderson State University and a M. Ed. in counseling from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. I have a passion for literature, religion, philosophy....and, in general, the liberal arts.
This entry was posted in Electioin 2012, extremism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

