I won’t “hope he fails”

This election campaign is just so much fun! But, being a “damn liberal”, things don’t look good for the “home team”; it appears that “Mighty Casey” might strike out! But there is yet an inning or two to play…

The last jobs report which comes out just before election day will be interesting and could be a factor in the outcome. Last month’s jobs report was very encouraging for O’Bama and if November’s report was similarly favorable, it would be a real plus for the “good guys.” But what I find really interesting is that the whole of the GOP will be hoping and praying that the jobs report is not good. For, they have hitched their wagon to the “I hope O’Bama fails” notion and the welfare of the country is secondary to that concern. I hope that should Romney win the election and I catch myself having intimations of “I hope Romney fails” stirring in my heart, I will be given pause. For, to hope for the misfortune of one’s country only to have one’s “pony in the race” come in first is really appalling.

 

About literarylew

I am a retired mental health counselor in El Prado, NM near Taos.I have a lovely wife, Claire, and our only children are two lovely dachshunds, Elsa and Ludwig. I have a BA in history/psychology (double major) from Henderson State University and a M. Ed. in counseling from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. I have a passion for literature, religion, philosophy....and, in general, the liberal arts.
This entry was posted in Electioin 2012, extremism, media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

