Lunacy in Politics and Religion

To believe is to believe that you believe.  When this “confidence” in your belief becomes inordinately invested with emotional energy, this belief becomes so rigid that it can devolve into a delusional state.

For example, if in five minutes, there is a neurological twitch in my brain…perhaps brought on because I took off my tin foil hat for a moment…and I suddenly realize that the moon is made out of cheese and if I believe that, then it is the truth…in my frame of reference, in my belief system!  And if so, how will I know that?  Well, because I know that!  And, how will I know that?  Because I know that.  And knowing how this world works, especially with the help of the internet, within an hour or so I will have 13 or so lost souls who will say, “Hey, you have got a point!  I see what you mean.  I too have seen the light.”

This is so relevant to religious lunacy but it is also relevant to political lunacy which, or course, is not totally divorced from religious lunacy.  The need to believe goes far beyond the parameters of rational thought.

So, how can I have any confidence in any belief?  Well, I suggest believe anything you want to believe…including the moon made of cheese notion…but subject yourself to the scrutiny of someone who would deign to bring a critical viewpoint to your worldview.  Of course, in the course of human history, those who usually subscribe to belief systems of this sort will respond with violence because their private reference system cannot tolerate the light of day that another viewpoint offers.  Witness Donald Trump and the Republican Party.

About literarylew

I am a retired mental health counselor in El Prado, NM near Taos.I have a lovely wife, Claire, and our only children are two lovely dachshunds, Elsa and Ludwig. I have a BA in history/psychology (double major) from Henderson State University and a M. Ed. in counseling from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. I have a passion for literature, religion, philosophy....and, in general, the liberal arts.
This entry was posted in extremism, group psychology, religion and poitics, Republican Party, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

