The Delusional System of Trumpism

The moon is made out of cheese! Now if I believe that is the case, then it is so…at least in my mind, in my belief system.  It is true because I believe it is true.  How do I know that it is true?  Because I know that it is true.  Then if I can find others who are similarly existentially insecure, not able to have their belief system scrutinized from outside of their private referential system, then I will be confirmed in my delusion.  Furthermore, anyone who dares to criticize me will be invalidated, perhaps accused of offering “fake news.”

This is called a delusional system, a private referential system.  Mental illness is a “private referential system.”  Those that are completely nuts do not believe they are nuts because if they had any degree of sanity they would think, “Hey, why are they frowning upon us so much?”  An illustration of this is Kim Jong-un in North Korea.  He knows that he is not nuts and finds validation in overwhelming support of opinion polls. Oh, what a coincidence, he controls all of the opinion polls! Donald Trump wishes to live in a similar bubble and his current assault on the press is an effort to eliminate or invalidate any source of critical news. It is very interesting that significant portions of our population are comfortable with this effort, readily agreeing with Trump’s allegation about “fake news” coming from main street media.

The issue is truth…as in “Truth.”  And Truth is something that always eludes those who wish to own it and dare to arrogantly assert that they grasp it and can inform others of what “it” is. For “Truth” is a process which we can only be a small part of and occasionally recognize and humbling appreciate that it, “It” (or He, She or Whatever, Whoever) has us.

!

About literarylew

I am a retired mental health counselor in El Prado, NM near Taos.I have a lovely wife, Claire, and our only children are two lovely dachshunds, Elsa and Ludwig. I have a BA in history/psychology (double major) from Henderson State University and a M. Ed. in counseling from the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville. I have a passion for literature, religion, philosophy....and, in general, the liberal arts.
This entry was posted in group psychology, media, psychology, Republican Party and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

